T20 World Cup 2007 | 15 years ago on this day, Team India won the T20 World Cup in their name NewsPipa



World Cup 2007
file image

New Delhi: 24 September is a very memorable day for the Indian cricket team and cricket fans. Even today this day reigns in the hearts of people. Exactly 15 years ago today (24 September 2007), the Indian cricket team managed to win the T20 World Cup (India won T20 World Cup 2007 against Pakistan) by defeating Pakistan. The final match was played in Johannesburg, South Africa. The Indian youth team led by MS Dhoni reached the final.

T20 World Cup in possession of India

This match is still considered to be the most special one as India faced the opposition Pakistan team. Indian players made history under Dhoni’s captaincy. Team India won the T20 World Cup title for the first time. People still remember the passion with which India played this match. Batting first in this final match, the Indian team scored 157 runs for 5 wickets in 20 overs.

Also Read

Captain Cool’s unique decision

Cricket fans cannot forget the last over of the match. Pakistan needed 13 runs in the last over of the final match. Then in the last over, captain Dhoni surprised everyone and gave fast bowler Joginder Sharma the responsibility of bowling. In front of Sharma is experienced Pakistani batsman Misbah-ul-Haq.

The thrill of the last over

first ball- Joginder Sharma bowled wide on the first ball. After that, Pakistan needed 12 runs from 6 balls. Joginder Sharma was again bowled wide off the first ball and Misbah missed the run. Now Pakistan need 12 runs from 5 balls.

Second Ball- Joginder bowled a full toss and Misbah hit a six. Team India was also very upset after seeing this six. Now 6 runs were needed from 4 balls.

third ball- Misbah plays a scoop shot with this ball and the ball goes high in the air. But when he came to Sreesanth, the Indian audience was shocked. Misbah was dismissed on the third ball. India won the match by five runs to win their first ever World Cup title.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here